Pumpkin Pie Tip

Getting an unbaked pumpkin pie into the oven can be quite tricky.  But, it doesn’t have to be!  I don’t have any spectacular pumpkin pie recipe to share with you, just this tip.  I use the recipe off of the can of Libby’s 100% pure pumpkin (not the pumpkin pie blend) and never vary the recipe.  It’s too good of a recipe to alter.  I really enjoy a simple custardy pumpkin pie, no bells and whistles.  I even eat pumpkin pie for breakfast.  It’s healthy enough. 

Here’s how I get my pies in the oven without making a big mess.  Mix up the custard and place the empty pie shells on the pulled out rack in the oven.  

Then pour the custard into the pie shells.  Since I make two pies at once, I measure out one cup at a time until I can pour the custard directly into the shell.  No mess on the kitchen floor and no mess on the oven door or oven floor. 

Carefully push the rack back into the oven and bake as directed. 

Enjoy!  And until next time, Grill, Baby, Grill!

About smokinchick

Love to use my grill and cook over a fire!

Posted on November 22, 2012, in How to/Tips and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

