Teriyaki Pork Chops with Steamed Broccoli

Years ago, I came across a recipe for a homemade teriyaki marinade. I have used it for chicken, pork, beef, shrimp, veggies-just about anything. It’s simple, it’s easy and I can play with it depending on what I have on hand. It has oil, but when I leave out the oil and add a bit of a thickening agent (flour or cornstarch), I turn it in to a sauce. I have served the entrée with rice or noodles and on occasion, with potatoes. Teriyaki is one of those versatile sauces that goes with everything. Well, maybe not cheesecake!

This recipe makes enough marinade for around 2 lbs of meat.  I cut my own pork chops from a boneless tenderloin.  When pork tenderloin is on sale, I purchase one or two and then cut them into even portions.  I generally leave them portioned and freeze them until I know what I am going to do with them.  I prefer to leave them as a roast as that is typically how they will be cooked whether on the grill or in the crock pot or oven.  Once in a while, they become chops.  I sliced this one into thin chops, about 1 to 1 1/2 inches.

 

 

 

 

 

Marinade:

4 garlic cloves, peeled and smashed

4 quarter size pieces of fresh ginger, smashed (or 1 tbsp ground ginger)

2 tbsp packed brown sugar

1/4 cup sherry vinegar

1/4 cup soy sauce (I use low-sodium)

pinch of freshly ground black pepper

2 tbsp canola or safflower oil

Warm all ingredients over low heat in a saucepan until the sugar is dissolved.  Allow to cool almost to room temperature before pouring over pork.  I typically marinade my meat in a zipper style storage bag.  Make sure all of the meat is coated and place in refrigerator if not grilling right away.  Marinate for at least 30 minutes before grilling.  If you have refrigerated, take the meat out 20 minutes before putting on the grill.

To grill:  Prepare grill for a one zone fire.  Brown both sides of  the chops over direct medium to high heat, up to 5 minutes each side. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

While the chops are browning, take one head of broccoli, cut up into bite-size pieces and wrap it in foil with a large handful of ice.  You can save time by purchasing a bag of broccoli florets already prepared.  I do not generally add any seasonings to steamed broccoli.  I like the flavor that is enhanced by steaming. 

Move the chops to the side opposite the coals and place the foil-wrapped broccoli on the grill alongside. 

Cover the grill.  Cook your rice according to package directions.  When the rice is done, so are the pork chops and broccoli! 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Until next time, Grill, Baby, Grill!

About smokinchick

Love to use my grill and cook over a fire!

Posted on September 12, 2012, in Pork, Recipe and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

