Smokin’ Chick’s Beef Brisket

Are you ready for it?

This was the best brisket I have ever prepared! It had just the right amount of smoke flavor and was very tender. My husband even said it was the best.

You need to start this the night before you plan to smoke/grill the brisket, so be ready. No running to the store at the last minute for this one. When choosing your brisket, make sure you get one with good marbling and a layer of fat on one side.

Just the right amount of marble

 For the night-before prep, you will need:  Plastic wrap, a shallow baking dish or plate (for any leakage), ground allspice, onion and garlic powders, fresh cracked black pepper and coriander.  Place long sheets of plastic wrap on the counter, layered at right angles (as a cross).  Place the brisket on the center.  Sprinkle each side liberally with all of the seasonings (garlic-not so liberally if you don’t like a lot of garlic-my hubby doesn’t).  Bring the sides up, wrapping very tightly.  Place in the shallow dish or plate and put in the refrigerator overnight or at least 8 hours. 

All wrapped up and no place to go-except for the grill!

Plan to have the brisket on the grill at least 2 hours, not counting searing time.  Mine was on 2 1/2 hours after searing.  When I am going to smoke something, I always keep my plans for that day to a bare minimum.  I generally use the time when I’m not actively involved to relax on the deck. 

Prepare your grill for an indirect fire.  I actually used a charcoal chimney to get the coals started.  I have found that if the day is still, the chimney is basically ineffective.  I have only used it when we have at least a little breeze.  That breeze is needed to draw air through the chimney and get all of the coals burning.   Also put your wood chips or pieces in water at this point.  You want to make sure they don’t burn up too soon and you lose smoking time!

charcoal chimney

Remove the brisket from the refrigerator just before you start the coals.  It will take 20-30 minutes for the coals to be ready which is just enought time for the brisket to warm-up a bit and relax.

Just before you put the grate on the grill, you will need to put your foil pan opposite the coals.  You want to make sure you have plenty of liquid during the smoking process to keep the meat from drying out. I used a 12 ounce lager and water to fill up the rest of the pan.   Sear the meat on all sides.  All sides means ALL sides.  You want to seal in all the moisture that you can in the piece of meat.  4 minutes each side was plenty of time to sear the meat adequately.  Some sides took a bit less time.  Once the meat is seared, move it over the pan.  Add 6-8 coals and the water soaked wood.

searing

Ready to start smoking

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The lid is on and now I can relax for while.  I insert a meat thermometer in the vent of the lid to monitor the temperature.  I’m not too concerned about the initial temperature.  I am watching for the temperature to drop to about 220 degrees or 215.  At that point, I will take the meat off.  Until then, the lid stays on. 

Smokin’

On the left, is the finished brisket.  It looks tough, but it is moist and fork-tender.  Immediately wrap the brisket in foil.  Let it rest 20-30 minutes if you are going to slice it up right away.  Make sure you slice AGAINST the grain for maximun tenderness.  I let mine cool and put it in the fridge for the crock pot the next day, Memorial Day.  We had activities away from home, and this was our treat when we came home.  It spent about 8 hours on low in the crock pot.  I opened the foil, exposing the brisket, but left it up on the sides to create a bowl.  I added water nearly to the top of the bowl.  I didn’t want to dry out the brisket and be left with a piece of cardboard or worse! 

 

 

 

 

 

I hope you enjoy your brisket as much as we enjoyed ours!  Until next time, Grill, Baby, Grill!                

About smokinchick

Love to use my grill and cook over a fire!

Posted on June 12, 2012, in Beef, Recipe and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

