(Cheater) Grilled Pork Tenderloin

I know you are wondering about (Cheater).  That’s what I call it when I buy “pre-” food.  You know, pre-cooked, pre-packaged, pre-marinated.  When I am in the mood for something really good, but I either don’t have the time, meat is still frozen, it’s last minute or I just don’t feel like doing all of the work, I put together what I call a Cheater menu.  I fell as if I am cheating when I buy “pre-” anything.  This particular time, it was mostly last minute as the weather was pretty good and we had not had anything grilled in several weeks.  It was a Sunday, so that also meant I had a bit more time to grill something before it became too dark. 

A pre-marinated Teriyaki Pork Tenderloin and a container of mashed sweet potatoes rounded out with a salad kit made our meal for that Sunday.  It was really nice to do some outdoor cooking. 

I prepared the grill with a split fire.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

When it was hot (high heat), the tenderloin went on.  It was seared on ALL sides to lock in it’s own juices. 

 

 

Once it was seared, I moved the tenderloin to the center of the grill.

 

 

 

 

The lid went on and I left it alone for about 40 minutes.

The end result:

 

 

 

While the tenderloin was cooking, I lined a pan with foil.  The pork was wrapped in the foil as soon as I took it off of the grill. 

 

 

 

 

 

Creating a tent with the foil (overlapping the folds), I allowed the tenderloin to “rest”.  This lets the meat relax and all of the juices flow back to the center of the meat, making a nice moist piece of meat.  Cutting it too soon will dry it out.  10 minutes is plenty of rest time.

 

 

Slice the pork and serve. 

 

 

 

 

Teriyaki is sweet and sour; sweet potatoes are sweet.  We opened a bottle of Rosato to sip as we dined.  It went pretty well with this meal.  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Until next time, Grill, Baby, Grill!

About smokinchick

Love to use my grill and cook over a fire!

Posted on January 18, 2012, in Pork, Recipe, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

