Berry Delicious Muffins

I know this is a grilling blog, but I just love to cook and bake. Every now and then, when I come up with something that I just have to share, I will. This is one of those times. I wanted to use up some blueberries and strawberries before they became fodder for my compost bin. I looked through my recipe books and found a muffin recipe that sounded good. However, I didn’t have a couple of key ingredients, so I did my usual and made it my own. The muffins turned out fabulously! Not only do they taste great, but the presentation is delicious to the eyes. I ate one warm, only a few minutes out of the oven. I know you will enjoy these muffins!

The first ingredient the recipe calls for is biscuit/baking mix.  I do not keep that on hand.  I did find a substitute here:    http://www.cooks.com/rec/view/0,1741,154172-230202,00.html.  The recipe also calls for sour cream.  I had a tablespoon if I was lucky.  Instead, I used cream cheese.  I had less regular cream cheese than needed, so I also used strawberry cream cheese.  And, this was a recipe for blueberry muffins.  I added the strawberries, too.  Additionally, I doubled the recipe.  The original recipe makes only a dozen.  Those would be gone in a day in my house!

Recipe:

  In a large bowl, combine 4 cups biscuit/baking mix and 1 1/4 cups sugar.  In another bowl, mix together 4 eggs and 2 cups of softened cream cheese.  Mix until smooth.  Add the cream cheese mixture to the dry mix, combining just until the dry mix is wet.  This will be a thick batter.  Fold in 1 cup fresh blueberries and 1 cup chopped fresh strawberries.  Fill muffin cups to 3/4 full.  Bake for 20 to 25 minutes in a preheated 375 F oven.  Check for doneness.  I set my oven for 22 minutes.  As you can see from the pictures, they turned out perfectly. 

Enjoy!! 

 

 

 

 

 

Until next time, Grill, Baby, Grill!

About smokinchick

Love to use my grill and cook over a fire!

Posted on September 7, 2011, in Baking, Recipe and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I wish you were my neighbor!! Looks yummy!!

Leave a Reply

