Steak with Mustard Marinade

This is what was left of a couple of pounds of steaks I grilled recently.  And this girl from the Cowtown is not a big fan of steak!  The mustard marinade made this piece of beef so tender, it practically melted in your mouth.  It was utterly delicious and will be a repeat in this household!

I don’t remember what type of steak I had picked up, but just about any cut will do.  I do not recommend buying  the most expensive cut as it will be marinating for at least all day if not overnight. 

And now a public service announcement on steaks:  Porterhouse (aka, T-bone),  filet mignon (aka, tenderloin), rib-eye, KC strip (aka, NY strip-of course I am partial to calling it the KC strip, but around here it is the NY strip), sirloin, skirt/flank, flatiron and possibly tri-trip are the names you will see when you shop your local supermarket or butcher.  I usually purchase sirloin or flank steak (I probably grilled a sirloin for this recipe).  Alton Brown, in his very first episode of Good Eats, tackled this very subject, explaining beef and where each cut is found on the cow (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7KrjeJDNKUA).  Very informative.  By the way, Alton Brown is my hero.  The way he presents cooking is as entertaining as it is  an educational experience.  If you have never watched the show,  I highly recommend watching it some time.

Back to the recipe.  The marinade is not completely my own.  Weber has a girl’s guide to grilling in which the basic marinade recipe is included.  I changed a couple of things to make it a little more my own.  I do that often.  I generally use recipes as a starting point, personalizing them to suit my tastes and those of my family.   The steak is 3/4 to 1 inch thick.

The marinade (makes 1 cup): 

6 tbsp packed brown sugar

1/4 cup fresh lemon juice (to juice a lemon, bring it to room temperature if stored in fridge.  Roll it on the counter to break up the pulp before slicing in half.  Then I squeeze it over my hand (to catch seeds) over a bowl).

1/4 cup spicy brown mustard

1/4 cup low-sodium soy sauce

2 tbsp extra-virgin olive oil

1/2 tsp garlic powder

2 tsp onion powder

Vigorously whisk all together in a bowl.  Makes enough for 2 to 2 1/2 pounds of meat. 

Place meat in resealable plastic bag.  Pour marinade over.  Press air out of bag and seal.  Turn bag to be sure to cover all of the meat.  Put in fridge for 6-8 hours or overnight, turning over at least once.  Take out about 1/2 hour before putting on grill to bring to room temperature.  Discard the marinade.  You will grill this over direct, medium heat.  Conduct the hand test- it will be about 5 to 7 seconds over the coals for medium.  It will take 10-12 minutes or so for medium rare to medium doneness.  Turn once, using tongs to prevent puncturing the steak and releasing juices,  about halfway through cooking time.  I cooked a little bit longer, moving the steaks to the side for a short time of indirect cooking with the lid on.  You should have clear juices on the top of the steak; try to keep those juices as you transfer the steak to a plate.  Let rest for 3 or 4 minutes.  This allows the meat to “relax” and the juices in the center to distribute evenly throughout the steak.  Serve with potatoes (any way you like them-I’ll post how to grill potatoes some other time) and a green salad.  Enjoy!

Until next time, Grill, Baby, Grill!

About smokinchick

Love to use my grill and cook over a fire!

Posted on July 21, 2011, in Recipe, Steak, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

